Public relations nightmare

I feel compelled to mention it, since it was all over the news today. In case you didn’t hear about the female astronaut that was charged with attempted murder, the bizarre story can be found here.

I can’t even imagine what must have been going through her mind to throw away her whole career like that, if the story is correct. This morning I saw a couple of inspectors that work over in the area that suits the astronauts up before flight. They had worked with Lisa Nowak and knew her a little. They were shocked and could not believe she had done such a thing. I guess you never really can tell what people are going to do, psychological profiles not withstanding. I do imagine that the NASA public relations department is dealing with some major damage control right now, though.

  1. #1 by nicole on February 6, 2007 - 9:11 pm

    Very interesting story … and who knows what her true intentions were. In any case, why do women get so obsessed with men like that? If he was really having “relations” with two women at once he’s worthless anyway. 😉

  2. #2 by Poppy on February 6, 2007 - 9:15 pm

    I was wondering if you would say anything about this. I have been thinking about this all day and all I can come up with is that she is mentally ill.

  3. #3 by Jen on February 6, 2007 - 9:23 pm

    Nicole, I am not even sure if he was involved with Ms. Nowak, from what it sounds like he might have merely been the object of her affections. She is married with three kids, after all.

    Poppy, it will be interesting to see what happens with this case. Perhaps she is mentally ill, but if so it must have been well hidden. Perhaps she just “snapped” and completely lost it. I got nothing on this one. I can hardly fathom it.

  4. #4 by Niki on February 7, 2007 - 9:44 am

    I sense a movie in the making. The details should be riveting.

  5. #5 by melanie on February 7, 2007 - 12:40 pm

    I don’t think she should have been charged with attempted murder. Attempted murder would seem to be something more than just spraying pepper spray in my book. Seems a harsh accusation for a love triangle spat. Had she not been in a high profile career, this simply would have been an assault charge.

  6. #6 by Valerie on February 7, 2007 - 12:54 pm

    I agree with Melaine.

    From what I gather from all the news press is that she was not involved with this man but she wanted to be. And her and her husband split up several weeks ago. So…

    I hope it works out for all parties involved.

  7. #7 by Michael on February 7, 2007 - 1:45 pm

    You came to mind when I heard about the story. I was hoping it wasn’t too close to home for you. Shocking stuff indeed.

    Take Care
    Michael

  8. #8 by Aleka on February 7, 2007 - 2:58 pm

    The poor thing….I agree with Valerie and Melanie.

  9. #9 by Kim on February 7, 2007 - 7:56 pm

    Hey Jen, where can I get some of those space diapers? Next time I go on a long trip I’d like to have some handy.

    Weird, weird story. People do the strangest things for “love”.

  10. #10 by Carol-anne on February 8, 2007 - 3:55 pm

    I too thought of you when I read this story… and it really does go to show that no matter what type of psychological assessment one can have done… the oddest things can tip one over the edge…

    Obviously at the time of her assessment she was most likely completely competent and from a stable background… but since that assessment obviously things have gone wrong for her… I hope she gets the help she needs and isn’t made an example of just because of her high profile…

  11. #11 by Dawn on February 10, 2007 - 2:02 pm

    Another one who immediately thought of you. My sister told me about the story and I automatically pulled up your site to find out what was going on.

    It’s my understnading that they are basing the “attempted murder” charge on the basis of the things that she had brought with her to Orlando including a large buck knife and a map to her house among other things. That’s pretty telling. I’m not saying that I think the conviction is fair as she didn’t actually attempt to kill her but if nothing else….anyone who would wear a diaper to drive non stop and confront someone in a parking lot with a wig and trench coat…..she’s got some serious problems.
    Thanks for linkng the story Jen.

  12. #12 by Trading & Investing Essentials blog by John Forman on February 20, 2007 - 9:39 am

    I read your artical its very good. which is related to this artical some more information.
    If you have interested artical please visit and take the information.

    This blog has comments, articles, and other information on trading by John Forman,
    who wrote The Essentials of Trading. John’s been in the markets for almost 20 years.
    He publishes his thoughts about trading (mostly educational), provides reviews of books and
    other trading related stuff, and posts information on his trading education work.

    for more details to click here:-
    http://www.theessentialsoftrading.com/Blog

