Alligator parking lot

We had the most beautiful day today: sunny, clear and a little bit cooler than it has been with highs in the upper sixties. Believe it or not, that is a cool down for us. At work this afternoon, some of the guys came to find me and asked if I had my camera. I did, because I am rarely without it, and several of us took the van and drove just a little down the road to a spot I often walk to or ride my bike to at lunch, a body of water we call “Gator Lake.” From these photos I took, you can see why we call it that. They had been driving by and saw the alligators stacked up on the banks like cars in a parking lot and wanted to share.

I have seen alligators there before, but I have never seen them in numbers such as what we saw today. The guys counted at least forty-eight huge ones all out of the water on the banks at the same time. Definitely photo worthy. The real close up photos you see really were taken from a very close distance from the huge dinosaurs, but I took them from the van, there was no way I was getting out with those guys out there! I am pretty sure the gators know that they are living on a wildlife refuge, because they are about as lazy and unconcerned as could be.

  1. #1 by melanie on January 19, 2007 - 6:10 pm

    You have the most exciting nature pictures. What a spectaclur sight!

    The best I can blog is a big fat partridge that is camping in my front yard. Of and a spider named Monty in our basement bathroom.

  2. #2 by Dawn on January 19, 2007 - 8:47 pm

    WOW! That is so awesome. I’m with you though, no way you’d get me out of that van! It’s so neat how they are all lined up in neat little rows. Are you going to add some of those to your refuge at the new place? ;o)

  3. #3 by anne on January 19, 2007 - 8:56 pm

    You have got to be kidding! That is unbelieveable…

  4. #4 by Jon on January 19, 2007 - 10:34 pm

    Wow – that is an amazing sight! Really , I am speechless (or commentless). Can’t imagine what it must be like to see it for real! Thanks for sharing!

  5. #5 by stacey on January 19, 2007 - 11:07 pm

    No way. No way! Jen, that’s amazing!!!
    I love the picture of them lined up. It reminds me of sunbathers on a beach!

  6. #6 by Rob on January 19, 2007 - 11:43 pm

    Excuse my language but Jesus H Christ!!!! That looks just like a park here in Pinellas county I take my kids to play at (minus the 48 alligators of course).

    But there are gators in our park.

    You should enter those pics in some kind of contest… that’s amazing.

  7. #7 by fyrchk on January 20, 2007 - 12:37 am

    That is absolutely amazing. They scare the poop out of me, but how incredible!

  8. #8 by Michael on January 20, 2007 - 9:29 am

    Awesome photos.

    Take Care
    Michael

  9. #9 by otilius on January 20, 2007 - 11:24 am

    must have been amazing to be there…yikes!

  10. #10 by Valerie on January 20, 2007 - 1:54 pm

    OMGGGGGGGGGGGG, that’s crazy. Wow. I’ve never seen one in the wild before. Only at Stever Irwin’s Zoo in Austrialia. He DOES have some aligators, not only crocs. 🙂

  11. #11 by Poppy on January 20, 2007 - 7:35 pm

    Beautiful shots!

  12. #12 by Heather on January 21, 2007 - 11:36 am

    I use to live in ga and seeing an alligator is like everyday news to us. But 48 all together holy crap jen! That is insane! I don’t think I could have believed what I was seeing! I’m with entering it into a photo contest or something. Write people magazine or something and have them do and article on the refuge and they could use all your pics! AMAZING!!!!!!

  13. #13 by Glitter/Aleka on January 22, 2007 - 4:40 pm

    Holy crap. I wouldn’t get out of the car for nothing!

