Let’s try this one more time…

So after all the craziness that has gone on this “flow” as we call the preparation for a space shuttle mission, it looks like we actually have a decent shot at launching tomorrow, at 12:29. It will be really good to see another one launch, and get back to some sense of normalcy with regular missions again. The next mission after this one is scheduled for mid December, which is right around the corner.

I don’t kow how much of it will be televised, but this mission should be a really interesting one. Several HUGE solar arrays are being delivered to the International Space Station where they will be carefully unfolded to their full glory. These will give the station much needed electrical power, and it is pretty impressive to see the way they managed to get the enormous panels to fold up so small. I saw it on TV actually. The Discovery channel, you know, they have all kinds of neat space related shows. It is weird sometimes when they air programs about space shuttle processing and I see a bunch of people on there that I know from work. Anyway, everyone please keep their firngers crossed or pray or whatever you do for a successful launch tomorrow and safe mission thereafter. Godspeed Atlantis!

  1. #1 by melanie on September 5, 2006 - 11:14 pm

    I will be praying!

  2. #2 by marksthespot on September 6, 2006 - 8:14 am

    Arrgghh! Looks like it’s not going, again.

    The university where I work is the alma mater of one of the astronauts, and our office has been trying to plan an event for students and staff to watch the launch. We’re turning into the “Office that Cried Party.”

  3. #3 by HDW on September 6, 2006 - 11:15 am

    Praying, and fingers crossed!

  4. #4 by Niki on September 6, 2006 - 2:57 pm

    Wishing for a successful launch!
    I’ve not been able to read you for some time and I just got caught up. I am so sorry to hear about Ollie. I know its a bit after the fact, but my thoughts are with you.

  5. #5 by HDW on September 6, 2006 - 7:37 pm

    I’m not crossing anything more. I’m jinxing this!!

  6. #6 by Amy on September 6, 2006 - 9:15 pm

    I read your post last night and I was SO excited…and then I watched the news and the launch was postponed???? What that????
    Bummed. I’m so sorry…yet again! Here’s hoping for next time!

