And the rocket's red glare…

You probably already know, but we successfully launched Discovery today, on the fourth of July. It was a beautiful launch and I felt more pride and accomplishment with this one than ever before, knowing that the work I did with my own hands, such as wiring and welding, left the earth and traveled to space today. I will post more about this later along with a video Andy took, but I am going swimming now- it is freaking HOT here! In the meantime, here are some close-up photos I took out at the space center right next to the press site. The dark line you see in the sky in the last photo is the shadow of the plume of smoke- it is really cool looking.

DSC_0504.jpg

DSC_0509.jpg

DSC_0519.jpg

DSC_0545.jpg

  1. #1 by bozette on July 4, 2006 - 3:59 pm

    cool pictures one day I will get there to see it take off. Watched it on NASA TV.

  2. #2 by Michael on July 4, 2006 - 4:19 pm

    Sweet photos.

    Take Care
    Michael

  3. #3 by ~J~ on July 4, 2006 - 7:54 pm

    Hey we over in the UK watched it live too!! (19:38 GMT).

    Damn exciting stuff, good start to your Independence Day!

  4. #4 by Melanie on July 5, 2006 - 4:51 am

    Excellent pictures. How I wish we could of been there for that. Thanks for bringing it closer to us Jen!

