Launch

With the upcoming return to flight of the Space Shuttle, you would think I would have posted more about it. In fact, launch is scheduled for Saturday, so it is looming near. It looks like weather could be a factor, though, because we are back into our pattern of convective thunderstorms every afternoon, and the launch time is set at 3:49.

Anyway, I don’t know why I haven’t posted about it- it isn’t because I haven’t been thinking about it, but instead maybe because it is so much a part of my consciousness that I don’t even think about mentioning it. Andy has to work Saturday to support the launch since he works at the pad, and I may go out there if it looks like it is really going to go. Please everyone pray for a successful launch so we can get back to the business of human spaceflight with some regularity.

  1. #1 by Michael on June 29, 2006 - 11:19 pm

    I have been lurking on your blog for a while and just wanted to comment that I really love the mixture of your job and personal life here.

    Thanks for sharing…

    Take Care
    Michael

  2. #2 by Melanie on June 29, 2006 - 11:38 pm

    Your’s and Andy’s jobs sound exciting! Wil cross my fingers that all goes well with the launch.

  3. #3 by HDW on June 29, 2006 - 11:54 pm

    Always, always thinking good thoughts for safe launches. So much goes into it – I think sometimes ‘we’ take for granted what all has to happen!!

  4. #4 by HDW on July 1, 2006 - 9:13 am

    Just wanted to say I was thinking about you guys this morning on Launch Day. Was watching the news and they were discussing vultures being a problem, too – huh! I didn’t know about that one! Anyway – lots of good thoughts your way!!

  5. #5 by Carol-anne on July 1, 2006 - 12:21 pm

    This is how great the interwebthingymajig works… I was reading about the Shuttle’s upcoming launch.. and thought of you and wondered why you hadn’t posted about it… came here… and lo and behold… you’d posted.

    I will of course hold good thoughts for a safe trip.

