The curse of KSC

I should have known that any vehicle destined to launch or take off from Kennedy Space Center would be subject to delays, and the Virgin Atlantic Global Flyer II was no exception. This morning before sunrise we were out at the Shuttle midfield viewing area poised and ready to watch the GlobalFlyer take off the 15,000 foot runway. Unfortunately, the take off was scrubbed due to unfavorable winds and a small fuel leak.

While we were out there in the dark waiting, my friend Julie and I tried to edge closer where we would be able to get a better view, and Julie grabbed my arm and said “There he is!” I was like “What, who?” and she said “I don’t know- it’s that guy I saw on Oprah!” It was Richard Branson, of Virgin Atlantic, and the TV show “The Rebel Billionaire,” standing right in front of us. It was shortly thereafter that it was announced that the flight was scrubbed for the day, and we all left. The photo above is of all the cars leaving the site and a bunch of the news vans parked to cover the event.

According to the website, virginatlanticglobalflyer.com, the next attempt is scheduled for tomorrow morning between 6:41 and 7:06 am. Rest assured I will be there!

  1. #1 by stacey on February 7, 2006 - 10:10 pm

    Wow … THE Sir Richard?!? There’s something vaguely sexy about that man … maybe it’s all the fortune and fame, but I’ve always been intrigued by his unique entrepreneurship.

