My First Entry

Okay, so you may be wondering about the name, Space Chick. I chose that because I am an electrical technician working on the giant black and white gliders known as the Space Shuttle Fleet. It IS interesting, but it is nothing like what you would think as an outsider. The main difference between where I work and anyplace else is that when we come up against a problem we can’t say “This isn’t rocket science”. I am 29 and female which puts me in the minority at work in two ways. The average Space Shuttle technician is a 48 year old male. It is amazing how much women still have to deal with in a male dominated profession such as mine. The rules against discrimination are in place, but the only result is that men have gotten sneakier about the way they treat women. On the whole it is great, but there are always a few bad apples, and it is very discouraging to see how much they can get away with. I worked in the aircraft industry before this as a mechanic and then Quality Control Inspector on business jets, and the “good ol’ boys club” was in place there as well. I’m not bitter or anything, I have a GREAT job, and hopefully I will stay there until I am ready to retire. It just hasn’t been easy.

  1. #1 by Cheryl on April 20, 2005 - 12:16 pm

    Hi…how exciting…I came across your site…looking for information on how long it takes to put in a pool…as I am in the process of doing that right now. My son is 16…and has spent his entire life dreaming of having your job. Good for you! I contacted NASA a couple times and asked them if they could send my son some items in the mail…and they just keep referring me to the gift shop…yes I’ve been there…and spent money…but I didn’t know if they had anything…pictures…anything that they can send to huge NASA fans. My son’s room is literally NASA…he has a handmade quilt…(his memere made) with every shuttle patch on it. my email is tsetse71@tampabay.rr.com…feel free to email me.

